About us

The PBS-SEPM was formed in 1954 as the Permian Basin Affiliate of the Society of Economic Paleontologists and Mineralogists, (The Society for Sedimentary Geology). Although most of our members reside in the Permian Basin area of West Texas and New Mexico, we serve anyone with an interest in the geology of the Permian Basin, including students and Geo-scientists employed by industry and academia.

We primarily serve our membership through Field TripsShort CoursesLuncheon SeminarsScholarships for students pursuing a degree in Earth Sciences as well as Publications regarding Permian Basin geology.  You can find our organizations by-laws here.

To become a member of the PBS-SEPM, please click here

Geology, Paleontologists & Mineralogists

our executive board & committee chairs:
Sandra Elliott

Chairperson of Nominating & Scholarship Committees

Mike Raines


Justin Mauck

One Day Field Trip Chairman

Dan Scott


Ashton Bruyere


Alexis Iwasiw


Robert Campbell

YPFT Chairman

Jessica Pontiff

First Vice President

Norman E Wells Jr

Second Vice President

Contact us



2900 W. Front St

Midland, TX 79701

  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

©2023 by PBS-SEPM. Proudly created with wix.com